Sounds From The Superhighway – Song of the Day: Gordi

Friday, July 21, 2017

“Heaven I Know”

I must admit that when I first began playing this single, the ghostly counting of “1, 2, 3…1, 2” threw me off.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about this one.  In fact, I had relegated the email announcing the release of the video for “Heaven I Know” to the trash bin.  Well, curiosity began to get the better of me and I went back, fished it out, played it again and then once more and I was hooked.

24 year old Sophie Payten, a/k/a Gordi, soaks the songs on her forthcoming album, Reservoir, August 25th on Jagjaguwar, with as much sadness and loss as one can handle.  She, however, does so with such craftsmanship and precision that one is given no choice but to listen and admire the work.

Gordi will tour North American in August.  Go to her website at https://gordi.bandcamp.com/

 

Leave a comment